Smoked Sausage and Mushroom Alfredo Pasta

Smoked Sausage and Mushroom Alfredo Pasta - Cover Image - Double Knotted Apron

I have had a smoked sausage link in my fridge for the last week gawking at me every time I open the door. I just couldn’t decide when and what I wanted to use it in. Today, my husband asked me if we could make it for lunch and I said “sure, why not”! Instead of the same ole same ole of making a smoked sausage dog or even sausage gumbo I decided I would try something new…Cue the intro of the Smoked Sausage and Mushroom Alfredo (did I mention homemade Alfredo sauce) Pasta.

This is a great recipe that can easily be cooked in less than 30 minutes and satisfy the whole family. Along with the sausage I had in the fridge, I also had mushrooms, green onion, Parmesan and heavy whipping cream. Boy was it my lucky day for ingredients to have lying around. I had everything I needed to make this dish along with some homemade Alfredo sauce! Yum!

What You’ll Need: (The pasta portion of the recipe made enough for 4 servings, while the sauce makes enough for 2 servings so be sure to double accordingly for your family size.)

  • 1 smoked sausage link (I recommend the Hillshire Farm links), cut into bite size pieces
  • 1/3 – 1/2 cup fresh white mushrooms, chopped
  • 1/4 cup fresh green onion, chopped and divided
  • 3 cups ziti pasta
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/8 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 1 clove garlic, crushed
  • 1 cup freshly Parmesan cheese, grated
  • 1 tbsp dried parsley

Cook the pasta according to the package directions and don’t forget to salt the water when it comes to a boil. In a large skillet add about two tablespoons of olive oil and turn on medium heat. Slice the sausage link into bite size pieces and add to the hot skillet. Brown for about five minutes and then add the chopped mushrooms. Let the sausage and mushroom simmer together for about 10 minutes before adding half of the green onion. Reduce the heat to the lowest heat setting until the pasta is cooked.

In a medium sauce pan melt the butter and then add the heavy cream. Simmer for five minutes. Whisk in the crushed garlic and parmesan cheese until melted. Reduce the heat to low and whisk periodically to keep the sauce from scorching. Once the sauce has simmered and thickened add the dried parsley (or fresh if you have it) and stir.

Drain the pasta once completely cooked and add back to the pot. Pour the sauce over the pasta to coat each noodle. Drain the grease from the sausage and mushrooms by using a colander and then pour out on a paper towel to help absorb the remaining oil. Plate the pasta and add the sausage and mushrooms over the top. Garnish with the remaining green onion and freshly grated parmesan. Serve immediately.

Smoked Sausage and Mushroom Alfredo Pasta - Double Knotted Apron

I hope you enjoy this pasta dish as much as we did! Such a hearty meal for lunch or dinner any day of the week!! Enjoy!!

xo-M

Leave a Reply

