Turkey Taco Pasta

As I have mentioned before, I love Publix! Another great thing about this grocery chain is that they offer numerous cooking resources including recipe cards throughout the store, coupons, weekly ads, grocery lists online and my favorite, their Family Style magazine! In there February/March 2014 issue on page 13 I found a great recipe called Turkey Taco Pasta. Not only is it a low calorie dish, it is delicious. Below you will find Publix’s recipe and my changes to the recipe as well. (By the way – this is a Hubby approved dish!)

Turkey Taco Pasta

 

Publix’s Recipe:

Makes: 4 Servings

Prep: 5 Minutes | Cook: 15 Minutes

  •  8 oz. Rotini Pasta
  • 20 oz. ground turkey
  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • 14.5 oz. can diced tomatoes with mild green chiles
  • 7 oz. can whole kernel corn with sweet peppers, drained
  • 1.25 oz. envelope reduced-sodium taco seasoning
  • 1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1/4 cup sliced green onions coarsely crushed tortilla chips
  • sour cream

My Recipe:

Mainly my changes are due to what I had in my pantry at the time.

  • 8 oz. Cork Screw Noodles
  • 16 oz. ground turkey
  • 2 tsp. olive oil
  • 1 can diced tomatoes
  • 1 can black beans
  • 1/2 pack of taco seasoning, and then I added more seasoning to it with my spices: Garlic Powder, Onion Powder, Ground Cumin, Chili Powder, Cayenne Pepper, Red Pepper Flakes and… I think that’s it!
  • 1/2 cup of freshly shredded mild cheddar
  • dollop of sour cream

You will notice I used black beans instead of corn, although I think corn will be a great addition next time. I used plain diced tomatoes without green chiles, although I think the green chiles will make the flavor even better when I make it again. I also added to my spice packet with my own spices just for more flavor – it makes a difference. Plus if you don’t have a taco seasoning packet, those spices I listed out are the same ones in the prepackaged spice flavoring, just FYI. I didn’t have any green onion on hand, so I just left it off even though it would be a beautiful garnish and add some crunch.

Directions:

In a large saucepan, cook pasta according to package directions. When you drain the pasta reserve a 1/2 cup. While boiling the pasta, start browning your turkey in a large nonstick skillet with a little olive oil. When your turkey is browned stir in the undrained tomatoes, black beans (or corn) and taco seasoning. Mix and simmer on low until pasta is finished. Once the pasta is tender, drain and reserve 1/2 cup of the liquid to add to your turkey mixture along with the pasta. Mix well and simmer on low until ready to serve. Plate/Bowl and top with sour cream, cheese and tortilla chips.

Turkey Taco Pasta Dish

Enjoy! Olay!

xo – M

Recipe Card – Click to Download.

Turkey Taco Pasta Recipe Card

 

Leave a Reply

