Baked Banana Bread

Who loves bananas? Who loves banana bread? I do, I do! One of my favorite sweet treats is banana bread and what makes this recipe even better is how easy it is! Thanks to Elise Bauer’s recipe I found (linked in previous sentence) I was able to discover this super simple banana bread loaf. I made a small tweak to her recipe and added some cinnamon. In my opinion, you can never go wrong with a little more cinnamon in your life. Plus, it’s good for you and smells great!

Drum roll please! (I can’t roll my R’s or I would do it myself)

Banana Bread Recipe

  • 3-4 ripe bananas (I used 3 large bananas that had already turned to the dark side)
  • 1/3 cup butter, melted
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 egg, beaten (someone call the cops an egg has been beaten)
  • 1 tspn vanilla extract
  • 1 tspn baking soda
  • pinch of salt (always subjective to the baker, but I use my thumb, index and middle finger for my pinch)
  • 1 1/2 cups of All-Purpose flour
  • dash of cinnamon (good ole wrist flick with the cinnamon jar)

You will want to preheat your oven to 350 degrees and grease your 4×8 loaf pan. I always use WAY more bowls than necessary when baking, but what’s a delicious treat without making a mess? I mashed my three bananas in a metal bowl and then added my melted butter. (Side note: I bought three mini prep glass bowls from the Dollar Tree one day and LOVE them. They make melting butter or measuring out your baking ingredients easy all around and no biggie if you accidentally break one.) After stirring your butter and bananas, add in your beaten egg, cup of sugar and teaspoon of vanilla and mix well. I don’t use a mixer for this recipe since it is so easy, just a big wooden spoon. After you have combined those ingredients well, add in your teaspoon of baking soda, pinch of salt and your flour last. Stir, Stir, Stir… get in there with that elbow grease! Once you have stirred until your heart is content and your mixture is well mixed, pour into your loaf pan. A trick my mom taught me is to lightly bang the bottom of your baking pan on the counter (put a towel in between). This will make sure your mixture didn’t accumulate any bubbles and cause a hole in your loaf once it is finished baking. Place in your oven and don’t forget to set you timer. I set mine for 50 minutes first, checked at that point and then baked for 10 more. Let your loaf completely cool before removing from the loaf pan. Slice and serve. Hubs loves his banana bread with a big glass of ice cold milk.

Enjoy!! xo-M

Banana Bread Ingredients (Sugar and Cinnamon failed to show up on time, so they are not pictured)

Banana Bread Ingredients (Sugar and Cinnamon failed to show up on time, so they are not pictured)

Bananas, Butter, Sugar, Egg and Vanilla

Bananas, Butter, Sugar, Egg and Vanilla

Final Product!!

Final Product!!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

